Hyppää sisältöön


City Council

City Council is the highest decision-making body in the City.

The Council decides on the basis of the economy and funding:
the budget, tax rates, the basis for payments, loans and guarantees. The City Council also sets quality and operational goals for City’s committees.

The Council decides on the structure of the town’s administration:
committees, offices and institutions and the division of authority between them. The Council elects representatives and the most important office holders.

Chairs of the City Council, 1 Jun 2019 – 31 May 2021

Chair Anna-Kristiina Mikkonen
1. deputy chair Reima Härkönen
2. deputy chair Pekka Turunen

City Board

City Board is responsible for City’s administration and finance, draws up proposals to be put to the City Council, and ensures that Cown Council’s decisions are implemented and legal.

The City Board represents the municipality, exercises the right to speak of the City and makes various legal acts on its behalf.

The tasks of the City Board are set out in the administrative provisions. The Mayor prepares and presents the matters to be decided by the town board.

Chairs of the City Board, 1 Jun 2019 – 31 May 2021

Chair Kirsi Torikka
1. deputy chair Eija Stenberg
2. deputy chair Seija Puputti